ISG Newsletter

Search in ISG

News and Media

We are pleased to announce the results of the 2005 ISG-SUTA thesis award. The results were determined through careful examination of the candidate theses by a panel of academic experts. Each thesis was reviewed by three independent expert on dimensions of originality, quality of scholarship, and the theoretical and practical significance. The ISG-SUTA thesis award recognizes outstanding graduate theses from across the globe studying different areas of contemporary Iranian society, including management, economics, education, expatriate communities, international relations, political science, sociology, public health, development, and women�s studies. This award is co-sponsored by Iranian Studies Group at MIT and the Sharif University of Technology Alumni association.

To view the complete results click here.

Below the results of 2005 thesis award are detailed:

First Prize (1000$)
Sharon Parker, University of Arizona, Ph.D.
Embodied Exile: Contemporary Iranian Women Artists and the Politics of Place

Second Prize (500$)

Reza Fallahati Ardestani, University of Victoria, M.A.
Contrastive Study of Hedging in English and Farsi Academic Discourse
Hani Abtahi-Baker, Institute for Housing and Urban Development Studies, M.A.
The Rescue of Oudlajan: The Problems & Prospects of Revitalizing an Old Inner-City Neighborhood in Metropolitan Tehran

Third Prize (250$)
Talinn Gregor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Ph.D.
Cultivat(ing) Modernities: The Society for National Heritage, Political Propaganda, & Public Architecture in Twentieth-Century Iran
Shirin Hakimzadeh, University of Oxford, M.A.
Beyond Diasporic Generations: Transnational Identity and Integration of Second-Generation Iranians in London
Shadi Sahami, University of Utah, Ph.D.
Exploring Health Disparities: Perceptions of Culturally Appropriate Health/mental Health Care Among Late-in-life Iranian Immigrants
Manata Hashemi, Cornell University, M.A.
Identity Construction in Contemporary Iranian Youth Residing Both in Iran and Abroad

Jury Recognition Letter
Sanam Vakil, Johns Hopkins, Ph.D.
Ghoncheh Tazmini, University of Kent, Ph.D.
Ben Stern, Tel Aviv University, M.A.
Shiva Sadeghi, McGill University, Ph.D.
Hamid Yeganeh, Laval University, Ph.D.

May 5, 2006